Eddie 'The Eagle' Edwards - Try Hard


Eddie ‘The Eagle’ Edwards is a unique British sporting hero with an incredible story to tell. The world’s ninth-fastest amateur downhill speed skier went on to become Great Britain’s first Olympic (self-taught!) Ski-Jumper, who missed out on medals by some distance, but won the hearts of the nation with his plucky, positive attitude and down-to-earth persona and emerged as a star of the Calgary ’88 Winter Olympics, returning to Britain as an overnight sporting celebrity.
 
In Try Hard, Eddie talks through his incredible life-journey; from self-learning ski-jumping and being shunned by the sporting establishment, to the extensive surgery to rebuild his face and body following years of spectacular crashes on the snow as he set out to break world-records in stunt jumping (10 cars & six buses) and speed-skiing (but 'only' reached 106.8mph); from bankruptcy through trustees’ mismanagement, to gaining a Law degree, and even how he became a most unlikely pop-star in Finland, above all, what will shine through is the steely resilience of a fearless man determined to overcome huge sporting and life hurdles.

In association with:

Thurs 25 May                        01727 844488
ST ALBANS Alban Arena                    

Sat 27 May                           08445 762210 
CHELTENHAM Town Hall          

Sun 28 May                           02392 828282
PORTSMOUTH Kings Theatre

Wed 31 May                          01686 614555
NEWTOWN Theatr Hafren      

Sun 4 June                            01392 726363
EXETER Northcott Theatre              

Tues 6 June                          01926 334418
LEAMINGTON SPA Royal Spa Centre      

Thurs 8 June                        01684 892277
MALVERN Malvern Theatres        

Fri 9 June                               0161 912 5616
SALE Waterside Arts Centre  

Sat 10 June                          01772 804444
PRESTON Guild Hall    

Sun 11 June                              01298 72190
BUXTON Buxton Opera House  

Mon 12 June                        01229 820000
BARROW-IN-FURNESS The Forum    

Tues 13 June                        01325 486555
DARLINGTON Dolphin Centre  

Thurs 15 June                      01786 274000
STIRLING Albert Halls        

Sun 18 June                            01224 641122
ABERDEEN The Lemon Tree  

Mon 19 June                         01463 234234
INVERNESS Eden Court                              

Tues 20 June                       0113 243 0808
LEEDS City Varieties        
                      
Wed 21 June                          01480 388111
ST IVES (Huntingdon) Burgess Hall